Sign In

​Ten-year affinity agreement between the CMA and Scotiabank will create premium services for Canada’s physicians throughout their careers

OTTAWA, ON, May 31, 2018 – Today marks a new era of financial services for Canadian physicians, as the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) announces that MD Financial Management (MD) will be joining forces with Scotiabank to deliver premium services to all Canadian physicians and their families. The sale of MD to Scotiabank, expected to close in the fall, leads to an unprecedented 10-year collaboration between Scotiabank and the CMA.

Scotiabank plans to maintain what has made MD successful—its people, its unique physician model, and its brand—while looking to complement the financial planning and management services available to serve the distinct needs of MD’s physician client base. Going forward, MD clients should expect even more options, customized for each stage of the physician “life cycle,” from tailored financial solutions for medical students and residents to an expanded suite of financial support for practising and retired physicians.

Beyond the exciting opportunities being created for existing and future MD clients, the Canadian medical community and their patients will see significant benefit from Scotiabank’s pledge to invest $115 million over the next 10 years in support of a vibrant medical profession and a healthy population. With this affinity agreement, Scotiabank recognizes the valuable work the CMA has done on behalf of the medical community and is looking to help amplify this by working collaboratively to achieve exponential gains in medical and health care.

As part of our continued commitment to member engagement, the CMA will also be making membership even more accessible. Starting in 2019, medical students, residents and retired physicians will see their membership fees waived. The annual membership fee for practising members will be reduced to $195. The new membership fee structure is intended to be more accessible, engaging more physicians in advocacy on the health issues and causes that matter to Canadians.

“Teaming with a Canadian institution that is community-minded and committed to health and families represents an unparalleled opportunity to deliver impactful change from coast-to-coast-to-coast. This new relationship with Scotiabank will enable us to take our advocacy and philanthropy to the next level,” – Dr. Brian Brodie, Chair of the Board, CMA

“The CMA has a rich history of driving progress in Canada’s health care landscape, and with this collaboration, its ability to shape policy and advance health improvements will be significantly enhanced. With the continued support of its membership and its partners, the CMA is uniquely positioned to act as Canada’s change-agent for better health.”  –  Tim Smith, CEO, CMA

“The MD Board of Directors is very proud of the successes of our wealth management company, and today marks the next era for MD Financial Management within the Scotiabank family. Physicians and their families will continue to be in very good hands.” – Dr. Suzanne Strasberg, Chair of the Board, MD Financial Holdings Inc.

“We’re excited by the opportunity to expand the solutions available to our clients and to deliver on a wider range of physicians’ financial needs, at all stages of their careers. MD clients will continue to receive the same high-quality advice and support as they do today, with the MD team remaining in place and available to clients. Our priority continues to be helping our clients achieve financial well-being.” – Brian Peters, President and CEO of MD Financial Management Inc.

BMO Capital Markets served as financial advisor to the CMA and Stikeman Elliott LLP served as legal advisor. PwC provided an independent fairness opinion to the CMA Board of Directors in connection with the transaction.

Connexion

​Une entente d’affinité de dix ans entre l’AMC et la Banque Scotia permettra d’offrir des services hors pair aux médecins du Canada pendant toute leur carrière

OTTAWA (Ontario) Le 31 mai 2018 – Aujourd’hui marque le début d’une nouvelle ère de services financiers pour les médecins canadiens alors que l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) annonce que Gestion financière MD (MD) se joindra à la Banque Scotia pour offrir des services hors pair à l’ensemble des médecins canadiens et des membres de leur famille. La vente de MD à la Banque Scotia, qui devrait être conclue cet automne, crée une collaboration sans précédent de 10 ans entre l’institution financière et l’AMC.

La Banque Scotia entend maintenir ce qui a fait la réussite de MD - ses employés, son modèle axé sur les médecins et sa marque de commerce sans pareils, tout en cherchant à compléter les services de gestion de patrimoine et les services financiers disponibles pour répondre aux besoins distincts de la clientèle de MD composée principalement de médecins. À l'avenir, les clients de MD devraient s'attendre à davantage d'options personnalisées pour chaque étape du cycle de vie des médecins. Ainsi, les étudiants en médecine et les médecins résidents bénéficieront de services financiers adaptés qui répondent à leurs besoins particuliers, et les médecins en exercice et retraités auront accès à une série plus vaste d’outils de soutien financier.

En plus des possibilités intéressantes pour les clients existants et futurs de MD, la communauté médicale canadienne et ses patients tireront avantage de l’engagement de la Banque Scotia d’investir 115 millions de dollars sur 10 ans pour soutenir une profession médicale dynamique et une population en santé. Avec cette entente d’affinité, la Banque Scotia reconnaît le travail précieux que l'AMC a accompli au nom de la communauté médicale et pour renforcer ce travail, collaborera afin de réaliser des gains exponentiels dans les domaines de la médecine et des soins de santé.

Dans le cadre de son engagement continu envers la participation des membres, l’AMC va aussi rendre l’adhésion plus accessible. À compter de 2019, les étudiants en médecine, les médecins résidents et les médecins à la retraite ne paieront plus de frais d’adhésion. Les frais d’adhésion annuels pour les membres en exercice seront réduits à 195 $. Le nouveau barème de frais vise à rendre l’adhésion plus accessible, engageant plus de médecins dans la représentation sur les enjeux de santé et les causes qui importent aux Canadiens.

« L’association avec une institution canadienne axée sur la communauté et engagée envers la santé et les familles est une occasion sans pareille d’apporter un changement majeur aux quatre coins du pays. Cette nouvelle relation avec la Banque Scotia nous permettra de passer à la vitesse supérieure avec nos activités de représentation et de philanthropie », a déclaré le Dr Brian Brodie, président du Conseil d’administration de l’AMC.

« L’AMC a toujours encouragé le progrès dans le domaine de la santé au Canada, et cette collaboration améliorera considérablement sa capacité à influencer les politiques en matière de santé et à en promouvoir les améliorations. Avec le soutien continu de ses membres et partenaires, l’AMC est dans une position unique pour agir à titre d’agent de changement pour un avenir meilleur sur le plan de la santé au Canada. » – Tim Smith, chef de la direction de l’AMC

« Le Conseil d’administration de MD est très fier de la réussite de son entreprise de gestion du patrimoine, et aujourd’hui commence la nouvelle ère pour Gestion financière MD au sein de la famille de la Banque Scotia. Les médecins et leurs familles restent entre bonnes mains. » – Dre Suzanne Strasberg, présidente du Conseil, Holding financier MD inc.

« Nous sommes ravis de la possibilité d’élargir les solutions offertes à nos clients et d’offrir une gamme de services plus vaste pour répondre aux besoins financiers des médecins à toutes les étapes de leur carrière. Les clients de MD continueront à recevoir les mêmes services de conseils et de soutien de qualité qu’aujourd’hui, l’équipe de MD restant en place pour les clients. Aider nos clients à accéder au bien-être financier continue d’être notre priorité. » – Brian Peters, président et chef de la direction de Gestion financière MD inc.

BMO Marchés des capitaux a servi de conseiller financier à l’AMC et Stikeman Elliott LLP a servi de conseiller juridique. PwC a donné un avis indépendant sur l’équité au Conseil d’administration de l’AMC relativement à la transaction.