Sign In

The story behind the Charter of Shared Values

Medical professionalism is at the heart of the practice of medicine. Yet the world in which physicians and medical learners practice is changing rapidly. Technology, patient empowerment, and more complex health systems have created a very different medical landscape.

“Right now is a critical juncture for the profession,” said Dr. Tim Holland, chair of the CMA committee on ethics. 

“The public’s trust is waning, and that is not just bad for physicians, it is bad for health care. Physicians are leaders in the health care system…being professional, being ethical, that is what is going to help restore the faith in the public.” 

This is why in 2017, the CMA committed to re-examining the three pillars of medical professionalism, starting with the first pillar, intra-professionalism, as expressed in the Charter of Shared Values.

The CMA has spent the past year examining intra-professionalism, as part of our commitment to better understand modern medical professionalism. Our ethics team spoke with hundreds of physicians, residents and medical students  both in person and on-line, about what medical professionalism means to them.

The Charter of Shared Values is the first pillar. The CMA is a leader in developing this Charter, believed to be the first of its kind in the world. 

It aims to identify the values and commitments physicians can make to each other, and to promote trust and respect within the profession

We want to lead a conversation about the culture of medicine, and develop an understanding of intra-professionalism so that colleagues  at whatever stage in their career  aim to treat each other with respect, integrity, reciprocity and civility.

RESPECT    INTEGRITY   RECIPROCITY   CIVILITY

This is how physicians’ expressed some of their most important shared values. By introducing this Charter, the CMA aims to help strengthen the medical profession, and unify physicians. 

Today’s physicians find themselves in a rapidly changing world. Issues like medical assistance in dying, marijuana legalization and genetic testing have sparked polarized debates. Technology and social media amplify these views, allowing opinions to be shared and scrutinized instantly. At times, these exchanges have led to discord, and incivility within the profession.

The goal of the Charter of Shared Values is to encourage a culture where difficult conversations and diverse opinions are welcomed. And this is just the first step.

In 2018, our work on medical professionalism will continue, as we tackle two remaining pillars: the Code of Ethics and the Accountability Framework. 

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Les origines de la Charte des valeurs communes

Le professionnalisme médical est au cœur même de l’exercice de la médecine. Pourtant, le monde dans lequel les médecins et les apprenants en médecine travaillent évolue rapidement. La technologie, l'autonomisation des patients et des systèmes de santé plus complexes ont créé un paysage médical très différent.

« Nous sommes actuellement à un moment charnière pour la profession », explique le Dr Tim Holland, président du Comité d’éthique de l’AMC.

« La confiance du public s’effrite. C’est mauvais signe non seulement pour les médecins, mais aussi pour les soins de santé. Les médecins sont les leaders du système de santé… Ils doivent faire preuve de professionnalisme et avoir une attitude éthique — c’est comme ça que nous allons regagner la confiance des gens. »

C’est pourquoi l’AMC s’est engagée en 2017 à revoir ses trois piliers du professionnalisme médical, à commencer par l’intraprofessionnalisme, exprimé dans la Charte des valeurs communes.

Dans cette optique, l’AMC a passé la dernière année à revoir l’intraprofessionnalisme dans le cadre de son engagement à mieux comprendre le professionnalisme médical moderne. Notre équipe d’éthique s’est entretenue avec des centaines de médecins en exercice, de médecins résidents et d’étudiants en médecine — en ligne comme en personne — à propos de leur vision personnelle du professionnalisme médical.

La Charte des valeurs communes est le premier pilier de cette initiative — elle serait par ailleurs une première mondiale en son genre, plaçant l’AMC à l’avant-garde.

La Charte vise à établir les valeurs partagées par les médecins et les engagements qu’ils doivent prendre les uns envers les autres, et à favoriser la confiance et le respect au sein de la profession.

Nous voulons diriger la conversation sur la culture médicale et acquérir une compréhension de l’intraprofessionnalisme afin que tous les médecins — quelle que soit l’étape où ils en sont dans leur carrière — cherchent à traiter leurs collègues avec respect, intégrité, réciprocité et civilité.

RESPECT. INTÉGRITÉ. RÉCIPROCITÉ. CIVILITÉ.

Voici les mots employés par les médecins pour exprimer les valeurs communes les plus importantes pour eux. Avec la Charte, l’AMC souhaite renforcer la profession et unir les médecins.

De nos jours, les médecins se trouvent dans un monde qui évolue rapidement. Des sujets comme l’aide médicale à mourir, la légalisation de la marijuana et les tests génétiques suscitent des débats très polarisés. La technologie et les médias sociaux ont tendance à amplifier les points de vue, puisque les gens peuvent exprimer leur opinion et scruter celles des autres instantanément. Ces discussions ont parfois donné lieu à des désaccords et à du manque de respect au sein de la profession.

La Charte des valeurs communes a pour but de promouvoir une culture où les conversations délicates et la diversité d’opinion sont les bienvenues. Et elle n’est que la première étape.

En 2018, nous poursuivrons notre initiative sur le professionnalisme médical et nous nous attaquerons aux deux autres piliers : le Code d’éthique et de professionnalisme et le Cadre de responsabilisation.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.