Sign In

e-Panel Survey Summary

Third-party Forms

Synopsis

Since the last Third-party Forms e-Panel in 2007, the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) has worked with the federal government to reduce the burden for physicians of completing forms on behalf of patients. This survey revisited the same topic, asking physicians about how they handle the third-party forms they fill out for their patients as well as their concerns about these forms. The results of the e-Panel survey are summarized below.

Survey – December 2016

The survey was sent to 3,689 e-Panel members (targeting resident physicians and practising physicians who are involved in patient care). A total of 663 responses were collected, for a completion rate of 18.0%.

Results

Most commonly completed federal and private third-party forms, time required to complete these forms, and billing practices

We provided e-Panel members with a list of 13 common forms and collected information on the regularity with which physicians have to fill out these forms for their patients. The CMA inquired about the following forms:

[1] Short-term disability claim form
[2] Long-term disability claim form
[3] Sick notes
[4] Canada Pension Plan disability medical report
[5] Disability Tax Credit Certificate (Canada Revenue Agency)
[6] Veterans’ Affairs disability benefit form
[7] Non-Insured Health Benefits prior authorization form (for First Nations and Inuit people)
[8] Health Canada Special Access Programme (Drugs) request form
[9] Canadian Adverse Drug Reaction Monitoring Program form
[10] Health Canada medical document for access to cannabis for medical purposes
[11] Medical Certificate for Employment Insurance: Sickness Benefits
[12] Medical Certificate for Employment Insurance: Compassionate Care Benefits
[13] Canada Child Benefit form

We asked e-Panel members how frequently they were asked to complete these forms. Our respondents were most often asked to complete sick notes: 67.7% of respondents had to fill this form out at least weekly (29.7% had to write a sick note more than 5 times per week and 38.0% had to write this type of note 1–5 times each week). The short-term disability claim form was the next most frequently completed form, with 42.3% of respondents reporting that they were asked to fill out this form at least weekly (5.3% received at least 5 requests per week and 37.0% received 1–5 requests per week). Our respondents reported that they were seldom or never asked to complete forms 6–13.

A follow-up question asked respondents how long it took them to complete the requested form. Seven of the 13 forms required 5–10 minutes to fill out. The quickest form to complete was the sick note: 81.3% of respondents (n = 469) completed it in 5 minutes or less. Forms that took longer than 30 minutes to complete were the long-term disability claim form, the Canada Pension Plan disability medical report and the Veterans’ Affairs disability benefit form.

The third question asked respondents who they charged for the completion of a third-party form. Respondents were given four options for each form: they could indicate that they charged the patient on a case-by-case basis, that they charged the patient via block fee (a predetermined amount charged to the patient to cover the cost of completing forms and other non-insured services), that they charged the third-party, or that they did not bill for the completion of the form.

Forms that were predominantly charged to the patient (on the basis of the case) were the two types of disability claim forms and the Disability Tax Credit Certificate. Forms that were predominantly charged to a third party were the Canada Pension Plan disability medical report and the Veterans’ Affairs disability benefit form. Other forms that were not billed to either the patient or a third party were forms 3, 7–10, 12 and 13 .

Nearly 90% of respondents either often refrained (65.2%) or sometimes refrained (24.1%) from billing their patients for these medical forms to avoid imposing undue financial stress on them.

When we asked respondents about their concerns about completing these forms for their patients, common themes that came up were the following:

  • issues related to billing patients;
  • issues related to billing third parties;
  • the growing administrative burden of completing forms; and
  • inappropriate form requests (from either third parties or patients)

Requests for other forms
We found that 68.9% of respondents were asked by their patients to complete forms that were not among the ones mentioned above. We received nearly 1,100 submissions of the other forms that physicians complete on behalf of their patients.

The additional forms most commonly requested by patients were:

  • fitness test forms (mentioned in 18% of responses);
  • provincial forms (mentioned in 10% of responses);
  • disability forms (mentioned in 7% of responses); and
  • insurance forms (mentioned in 7% of responses).

Concerns about completing third-party forms
e-Panel members had a great number of concerns when it came to completing third-party forms. The main ones are listed here:

  • 75.0% of respondents were concerned that completing forms took time away from direct patient care;
  • 74.8% of respondents did not like being unfairly placed in the role of adjudicator (where the patient thinks the physician is responsible for approving their benefits);
  • 66.1% were concerned about the lack of compensation for completing forms;
  • 63.4% of respondents were concerned by the number of inappropriate requests from third parties; and
  • 37.3% were concerned by the number of inappropriate requests from patients.

Respondents also cited some additional concerns they had with these forms, such as:

  • the administrative burden (e.g., frequency of requests, time involved, length of forms);
  • the vague or inappropriate requests for physicians (from the forms or from the patient directly);
  • the lack of standardization or poor design of forms; and
  • the lack of compensation and lack of standardized fees for completing forms.

Next Steps

The CMA will continue to work with the federal government and the insurance industry to simplify the third-party forms that physicians are asked to fill out and to reduce the number of these forms. The latest survey results will assist CMA in identifying opportunities to reduce the administrative burden of forms (e.g., sick notes) and will contribute to a revised CMA policy on third-party forms.

Respondents told us

“We DO have a professional responsibility to assess patients. Abrogating this is not good for the profession. I understand insurance/province needs info. Filling forms however is very time consuming, unfulfilling, poorly paid and takes away from patient care.”

“It puts me in a difficult position to bill the patient. We are seen as carers not a business that charges patients directly. It can cause tension in the relationship.”

“Completing these forms is time consuming at all levels in my practice — for the patient, the admin assistant who works with me and myself. Many of the questions we are asked require a bit of a guess approach to answering them.”

“Necessary inconvenience.”

Respondent Profile

Summary of survey findings

Choosing Wisely Canada (November 2016)

Marijuana (July 2016)

Health Accord (June 2016)

Climate Change (November 2015)

Canadian Medical Foundation (November 2015)

Professionalism (September 2015)

International Health (May 2015)

Post-Approval Surveillance of Drugs and Medical Devices (March 2015)

Seniors Care (February 2015)

Archive

E-prescribing (June 2014)

Opioids (May 2014)

Connexion

Résumé d’un sondage mené auprès des membres du Forum électronique

Les formulaires de tiers

Sommaire

Depuis le dernier sondage au sujet des formulaires de tiers mené auprès du Forum électronique, en 2007, l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) a travaillé en collaboration avec le gouvernement fédéral à réduire le fardeau des formulaires de tiers que doivent remplir les médecins pour le compte des patients. Le sondage de décembre 2016 est revenu sur la question en demandant aux médecins comment ils abordent la question des formulaires de tiers à remplir pour leurs patients et quelles sont leurs préoccupations à cet égard. Voici un sommaire des résultats de ce sondage mené auprès des membres du Forum électronique.

Sondage – Décembre 2016

Le sondage a été envoyé à 3 689 membres du Forum électronique (en ciblant les médecins résidents et les médecins en exercice qui participent aux soins des patients). En tout, 663 questionnaires remplis ont été recueillis, pour un taux de réponse de 18,0 %.

Résultats

Formulaires fédéraux et formulaires de tiers les plus souvent remplis, temps requis pour remplir ces formulaires et mode de facturation de ce service

Nous avons présenté aux membres du Forum électronique une liste de 13 formulaires courants et nous avons recueilli des renseignements sur la fréquence à laquelle les médecins doivent remplir ces formulaires pour leurs patients. L’AMC a interrogé les répondants au sujet des formulaires suivants :

[1] Formulaire de demande de prestations d’invalidité de courte durée
[2] Formulaire de demande de prestations d’invalidité de longue durée
[3] Attestation de maladie
[4] Rapport médical -Prestations d’invalidité du Régime de pensions du Canada
[5] Certificat pour le crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées (Agence du revenu du Canada)
[6] Prestations d’invalidité d’Anciens combattants
[7] Services de santé non assurés – Formulaire d’autorisation préalable (membres des Premières Nations et Inuits)
[8] Formulaire de demande (Médicaments) – Programme d’accès spécial de Santé Canada
[9] Formulaires du Programme canadien de surveillance des effets indésirables des médicaments
[10] Document médical de Santé Canada pour avoir accès au cannabis à des fins médicales
[11] Certificat médical – Prestations de maladie de l’assurance-emploi
[12] Certificat médical – Prestations de compassion de l’assurance-emploi
[13] Allocation canadienne pour enfant (lettre de confirmation)

Nous avons interrogé les membres du Forum électronique au sujet de la fréquence à laquelle on leur demande de remplir ces formulaires. Les répondants ont indiqué que les attestations de maladie sont les formulaires qu’on leur demande le plus souvent de remplir : 67,7 % des répondants reçoivent une telle demande au moins une fois par semaine (29,7 % reçoivent une telle demande plus de cinq fois par semaine et 38,0 %, d’une à cinq fois par semaine). Le Formulaire de demande de prestations d’invalidité de courte durée vient en second lieu : 42,3 % des répondants se font demander de remplir un de ces formulaires au moins une fois par semaine (5,3 % reçoivent au moins cinq demandes par semaine à cet effet et 37,0 %, d’une à cinq demandes par semaine). Pour ce qui est des demandes concernant les formulaires 6 à 13, les répondants ont indiqué en recevoir rarement ou jamais.

À la question suivante, on a demandé aux répondants combien de temps ils doivent consacrer à remplir les formulaires. Les répondants ont dit que pour 7 des 13 formulaires, il leur fallait de 5 à 10 minutes. L’attestation de maladie est le formulaire qui exige le moins de temps : 81,3 % des répondants (n = 469) le remplissent en moins de 5 minutes. Les formulaires suivants exigent plus de 30 minutes : la Demande de prestations d’invalidité de longue durée, le Rapport médical pour la demande de prestation d’invalidité du Régime de pensions du Canada et la Demande de prestation d’invalidité d’Anciens combattants.

À la troisième question, on a demandé aux répondants à qui ils envoyaient une facture pour remplir un formulaire de tiers. Quatre choix de réponse étaient proposés pour chaque formulaire : facturation du service au patient, au cas par cas; facturation du service au patient, par rémunération globale (montant prédéterminé facturé aux patients pour couvrir le coût des formulaires à remplir et d’autres services non assurés); facturation du service à la tierce partie; aucune facturation.

Les répondants envoyaient le plus souvent une facture au patient (selon le cas) pour remplir les deux types de formulaires de demande de prestations d’invalidité et le Certificat pour le crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées. Les formulaires qu’ils facturaient principalement à une tierce partie étaient le Rapport médical pour la demande de prestation d’invalidité du Régime de pensions du Canada et la Demande de prestation d’invalidité d’Anciens combattants. Les formulaires 3, 7 à 10, 12 et 13 n’étaient facturés ni au patient ni à la tierce partie.

Près de 90 % des répondants s’abstenaient souvent (65,2 %) ou parfois (24,1 %) de facturer leurs services après avoir rempli ces formulaires médicaux afin d’éviter d’imposer des pressions financières indues à leurs patients.

Lorsque nous avons demandé aux répondants quelles étaient leurs préoccupations lorsqu’on leur demandait de remplir des formulaires pour leurs patients, les thèmes suivants se sont dégagés :

  • enjeux liés à la facturation des services aux patients;
  • enjeux liés à la facturation des services à des tierces parties;
  • fardeau administratif croissant imposé par les formulaires à remplir;
  • demandes indues concernant des formulaires (de la part de tiers ou de patients).

Demandes concernant d’autres formulaires

Nous avons pu constater que 68,9 % des répondants recevaient de la part de leurs patients des demandes concernant des formulaires autres que ceux énumérés ci-dessus. Nous avons reçu près de 1 100 mentions d’autres formulaires que les médecins remplissent pour le compte de leurs patients.

Les autres formulaires les plus souvent présentés par les patients étaient les suivants :

  • formulaires de vérification de la condition physique (cités par 18 % des répondants);
  • formulaires provinciaux (cités par 10 % des répondants);
  • formulaires liés à l’invalidité (cités par 7 % des répondants);
  • formulaires d’assurance (cités par 7 % des répondants).

Préoccupations au sujet des formulaires de tiers

Les membres du Forum électronique ont soulevé un très grand nombre de préoccupations au regard des formulaires de tiers qu’on leur demande de remplir. Voici les principales :

  • 75,0 % des répondants trouvent que le temps exigé pour remplir des formulaires empiète sur le temps consacré aux soins directs aux patients;
  • 74,8 % n’aiment pas être injustement obligés de jouer le rôle d’arbitre (le patient pense que le médecin est responsable de l’approbation de ses prestations);
  • 66,1 % se préoccupent de l’absence de rémunération pour le temps consacré à remplir les formulaires;
  • 63,4 % trouvent qu’il y a trop de demandes indues de la part de tiers;
  • 37,3 % trouvent qu’il y a trop de demandes indues de la part de patients.

Les répondants ont aussi cité d’autres enjeux préoccupants, notamment les suivants :

  • le fardeau administratif (p. ex., fréquence des demandes, longueur des formulaires et temps passé à les remplir);
  • les demandes vagues ou indues (dans les formulaires ou de la part des patients eux-mêmes);
  • l’absence de normalisation des formulaires et les formulaires mal conçus;
  • l’absence de rémunération et de tarification normalisée pour remplir les formulaires.

Prochaines étapes

L’AMC continuera à travailler en collaboration avec le gouvernement fédéral et l’industrie de l’assurance dans le but d’obtenir la simplification des formulaires de tiers que l’on demande aux médecins de remplir et d’en réduire le nombre. Les résultats de ce récent sondage aideront l’AMC à trouver des façons de réduire le fardeau administratif qu’imposent les formulaires (p. ex., les attestations de maladie) et seront pris en compte dans la révision de la politique de l’AMC sur les formulaires de tiers.

Commentaires des répondants

« C’est à NOUS qu’incombe la responsabilité professionnelle de l’évaluation des patients. Tenter de nous soustraire à cette responsabilité ne serait pas bon pour la profession. Je comprends que les compagnies d’assurance et les provinces ont besoin d’information. Mais il faut trop de temps pour remplir des formulaires, ce n’est pas un travail valorisant, la rémunération est inadéquate et le temps passé à cette tâche réduit le temps consacré aux soins des patients. »

« Je me retrouve dans la situation difficile d’avoir à facturer le service au patient. Nous sommes perçus comme des soignants et non comme une entité commerciale qui émet des factures directement aux patients. La situation peut causer des tensions dans notre relation avec eux. »

« Remplir ces formulaires prend du temps dans tous les aspects de ma pratique – le temps du patient, celui de l’adjoint administratif qui travaille avec moi et le mien. Il faut parfois répondre un peu au hasard à cause de la nature d’un grand nombre des questions que l’on nous pose. »

« C’est un mal nécessaire. »

Profil des répondants

Les résumés des résultats de l'enquête

Choisir avec soins (novembre 2016)

Marijuana (juillet 2016)

Accord sur la santé (juillet 2016)

Hiérarchisation des enjeux (janvier 2016)

Changement climatique (novembre 2015)

Fondation médicale canadienne (novembre 2015)

Le professionnalisme medical (septembre 2015)

Santé mondiale (juin 2015)

Surveillance posthomologation des médicaments et des instruments médicaux (mars 2015)

Les aînés (fevrier 2015)

Les archives

L’établissement électronique des ordonnances (juin 2014)

D’opioïdes (mai 2014)