Sign In

Transition to residency is tough everywhere

A series of studies presented at the 2014 International Conference on Physician Health (ICPH) have documented just how stressful the transition from medical student to resident can be, no matter which health care system is involved.

With ‘Milestones and Transitions — Maintaining the Balance’ the theme of this year’s ICPH meeting, the data suggested the student resident transition could be the most challenging in the spectrum of medical education and practice.

Four presentations on this particular transition came from Canada, the United States, United Kingdom and Spain.

“It’s really raw, I experienced it myself,” said Canadian Medical Association President Chris Simpson, who was attending the session. Simpson is now chairman of the cardiology department at Queen’s University (Kingston, ON).

He said graduating from medical school to residency training continues to cause anxiety for those involved.

The Canadian data, published last year and presented during the session, was based on in-depth interviews with 17 PGY 1 residents at the University of Toronto.

Dr. Susan Edwards, speaking on behalf of lead author Christopher Hurst, said the degree of stress experienced by first year residents is clearly seen at the University of Toronto. The PGY 1s comprise the main group seeking assistance at the Office of Resident Wellness, where she is director.

Edwards said the study showed large upswings and downswings in the state of well-being that residents reported as they passed through monthly rotations of their year-old residency.

“I can’t stress enough the importance of humanity,” Edwards said, discussing how to improve the experience. She also noted that feeling part of a team was a positive experience for these residents.

Encouraging a sense of teamwork was a point also made by Dr. Vikas Acharya in his presentation on how the transition to residency has been improved at Luton and Dunstable Hospital, NHS Trust, Luton, UK.

“It’s a survival experience,” Acharya said of the transition period. He noted that the high levels of stress and anxiety felt by those moving from the nurturing environment of medical school – and having to work in a demanding hospital environment with fewer supports – can have a negative impact on patient care as well as the individual’s own well-being.

Dr. Amir Reyahi who worked with Acharya on the study, said one of the most positive steps to improve the residents’ experience is to make them feel part of the team by holding the team dinner at the beginning of the rotation rather than at the end.

The high levels of stress and anxiety experienced by new residents were confirmed by research studies from a national mental health survey conducted with medical students and physicians in Australia and residents and young doctors in Catalonia.

Dr. Michael Bonning, who presented the Australian data, said the best way to improve the transition from medical school to residency is to change the culture of medicine.

Anna Mitjans, who presented the Spanish research on behalf of the Galatea Foundation, said residents also reported “a sweet moment” when they first started their residency.

Edwards and others confirmed that while many residents reported they had “anxious anticipation” upon starting residency, this feeling was quickly overcome by the anxieties experienced with the new role. Mitjans speculated the Spanish residents felt more positive because they knew they had four or five years of employment ahead of them, whereas it was uncertain whether they would have a job when they entered practice.

Simpson said program leaders can help lessen transition stress – and the expectations involved – by taking tangible steps to improve the work environment for residents.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

La transition vers la résidence est difficile partout

Une série d’études présentées à la Conférence internationale sur la santé des médecins (CISM) de 2014 révèle combien la transition entre l’école de médecine et la résidence peut être stressante, peu importe le système de santé.

La CISM de cette année a pour thème « Jalons et transitions – Maintenir l’équilibre » et les données semblent indiquer que la transition du statut d’étudiant à celui de résident pourrait être le moment le plus éprouvant de toute l’évolution de la carrière, des études à la pratique.

Quatre présentations sur cette transition particulière ont été faites par le Canada, les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni et l’Espagne.

« C'est très dur, je l’ai vécu moi-même », a dit le président de l’Association médicale canadienne, Chris Simpson, qui assistait à la séance. Le Dr Simpson dirige le Département de cardiologie de l’Université Queen’s, à Kingston, en Ontario. Il a noté que le passage entre l’école de médecine et la formation en résidence demeure une source d’angoisse.

Les données canadiennes, rendues publiques l’année dernière et présentées à la séance, découlent d’entretiens approfondis avec 17 résidents en première année de formation postdoctorale à l’Université de Toronto.

La Dre Susan Edwards, parlant au nom de l’auteur principal Christopher Hurst, a dit que le degré de stress éprouvé par les résidents en première année post-MD est palpable à l’Université de Toronto. Ceux-ci forment le principal groupe qui fait appel au Bureau du mieux-être des résidents, dont elle est la directrice.

Selon la Dre Edwards, l’étude démontre que les résidents traversent des hauts et des bas très marqués pendant les rotations mensuelles de leur résidence d’un an.

« Je ne peux que souligner l’importance de l’humanité », a dit la Dre Edwards, parlant des façons d’améliorer cette expérience. Elle a également souligné que le sentiment de faire partie d’une équipe était une chose positive pour ces résidents.

La promotion de l’esprit d’équipe a également été soulignée par le Dr Vikas Acharya, qui a expliqué comment la transition vers la résidence a été améliorée à l’hôpital Luton and Dunstable du NHS Trust, à Luton, au Royaume-Uni.

« C'est une expérience de survie », a dit le Dr Acharya au sujet de la période de transition. Il a souligné que le fort degré de stress et d’angoisse éprouvé par ceux qui quittent le cadre rassurant de l’école de médecine pour aller travailler dans un milieu hospitalier exigeant, offrant moins de soutien, peut avoir des conséquences négatives sur les soins aux patients et sur le mieux-être de l’individu.

Selon le Dr Amir Reyahi, qui a collaboré avec le Dr Acharya dans le cadre de cette étude, l’un des meilleurs moyens d’améliorer l’expérience des résidents est de leur donner le sentiment de faire partie d’une équipe en tenant le dîner de groupe au début de la rotation et non à la fin.

Le fort degré de stress et d’angoisse éprouvé par les nouveaux résidents a été confirmé par des recherches effectuées dans le cadre d’une enquête nationale sur la santé mentale menée auprès d’étudiants en médecine et de médecins en Australie et de résidents et de jeunes médecins en Catalogne.

Le Dr Michael Bonning, qui a présenté les données de l’étude menée en Australie, a dit que le meilleur moyen d’améliorer la transition entre l’école de médecine et la résidence consiste à changer la culture de la médecine.

Anna Mitjans, qui a présenté les données de la recherche menée en Espagne au nom de la Fondation Galatée, a dit que les résidents disaient également avoir vécu « un moment agréable » au tout début de leur résidence.

La Dre Edwards et d’autres participants ont confirmé que même si de nombreux résidents ont affirmé ressentir de l’impatience au moment de commencer leur résidence, ce sentiment était vite remplacé par l’angoisse liée aux nouvelles responsabilités. Mme Mitjans a dit croire que les résidents espagnols ont une attitude plus positive parce qu’ils savent qu’ils vont travailler pendant quatre ou cinq ans, alors qu’ils ne savent pas s’ils auront un emploi après leur résidence.

Le Dr Simpson a indiqué que les dirigeants de programme peuvent aider à réduire le stress causé par la transition – et les attentes connexes – en prenant des mesures tangibles pour améliorer le cadre de travail des résidents.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.