Sign In

Upcoming federal budget a chance for new vision for health care

The CMA is advancing a series of critical recommendations to the federal government as part of its pre-budget consultations to ensure Canada meets its urgent and changing health care needs.

The seven recommendations submitted by the CMA to be included in this year’s federal budget would enhance cooperation on pressing federal-provincial health issues and address the major long-term challenges to health care provision arising from an aging population.

As part of its pre-budget advocacy, the CMA is also urging the government to maintain tax equity for medical professionals by affirming its commitment to the existing framework governing Canadian-Controlled Private Corporations.

The CMA has reached out to the government to seek clarity on its plans for the small business tax framework. In its pre-budget submission, the CMA pointed out that under Canada’s health care system, the majority of physicians are self-employed professionals and, in effect, small business owners.

Besides providing a highly important and valued public service, Canadian physicians are directly and indirectly responsible for hundreds of thousands of jobs, contribute significantly to the knowledge economy and invest millions of dollars in local communities, the CMA pointed out to Parliamentarians.

The core of the CMA’s submission to the federal pre-budget consultations is a set of tangible recommendations for meaningful federal action to support health and health care. Taken together, these recommendations set the groundwork for the federal role in health in advance of discussions with the provinces and territories on the new Health Accord.

The recommendations focus on:

  • Improving access to prescription medication;
  • Expanding the availability of home care and long-term care;
  • Delivering immediate support to Canada’s family caregivers;
  • Establishing new funding to the provinces and territories to support seniors care.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Le prochain budget fédéral : une occasion d’adopter une nouvelle vision des soins de santé

L’AMC propose au gouvernement fédéral une série de recommandations cruciales dans le contexte de ses consultations prébudgétaires, afin d’assurer que le Canada répond à ses besoins urgents et changeants dans le domaine des soins de santé.

Les sept recommandations que l’AMC souhaite voir le fédéral inclure dans son budget de cette année amélioreraient la collaboration dans de grands dossiers fédéraux-provinciaux urgents de la santé et relèveraient les principaux défis que pose le vieillissement de la population pour la prestation des soins de santé.

Dans le cadre de ses interventions prébudgétaires, l’AMC exhorte aussi le gouvernement à maintenir l’équité fiscale pour les professionnels de la médecine en affirmant son engagement à maintenir le cadre réglementaire actuel des sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien.

L’AMC a communiqué avec le gouvernement pour lui demander de clarifier ses plans au sujet du cadre fiscal des petites entreprises. Dans son mémoire prébudgétaire, elle a signalé que dans le système de santé du Canada, les médecins sont en majorité des professionnels autonomes et, en réalité, de petits entrepreneurs.

Les médecins du Canada non seulement fournissent un service public très important et de grande valeur, mais aussi créent directement et indirectement des centaines de milliers d’emplois, contribuent beaucoup à l’économie du savoir et investissent des millions de dollars dans les communautés locales, comme l’AMC l’a signalé aux parlementaires.

Le mémoire présenté par l’AMC dans le cadre des consultations prébudgétaires fédérales repose sur une série de recommandations concrètes pour des interventions fédérales réelles afin d’appuyer la santé et les soins de santé. Globalement, ces recommandations jettent l’assise du rôle fédéral dans la santé avant les discussions qui auront lieu avec les provinces et les territoires au sujet du nouvel Accord sur la santé.

Les recommandations visent à :

  • améliorer l’accès aux médicaments d’ordonnance;
  • étendre la disponibilité des soins à domicile et des soins de longue durée;
  • aider immédiatement les aidants familiaux non rémunérés du Canada;
  • établir un nouveau financement qui aidera les provinces et les territoires à appuyer les soins aux aînés.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.