Sign In

We need clear guidelines on referral in physician assisted dying: Simpson

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) continues to engage politicians and stakeholders at the highest level on the medical profession’s perspective on physician-assisted dying and the need for clear guidelines in this area.

CMA President Chris Simpson discussed the CMA’s perspective on this issue recently when he met with federal Health Minister Rona Ambrose. The CMA is also seeking a meeting with federal Justice Minister Peter MacKay to discuss the recent Supreme Court of Canada ruling that the Criminal Code ban on physician assisted dying is unconstitutional.

The CMA has also been outspoken in recent weeks on the need for physicians to be able to act on their conscience on this issue.

In an interview published in the National Post, Simpson stated “we simply cannot accept a system that compels physicians to go against their conscience as individuals on something so profound as this.”

Mandatory referral in physician-assisted dying is one of the major issues that need to be resolved in the wake of the unanimous court ruling. While the CMA does not have specific policy in this controversial area, it will be consulting with its members in the coming months and hopes to have guidance following its General Council meeting in August.

The court said the charter rights of both patients and doctors will need to be reconciled when the ban is lifted in a year. Simpson said many doctors opposed to physician-assisted dying feel that even referring a patient to another doctor to deal with the issue “is contrary to their personal ethics or moral or religious beliefs.”

However, in the interview, Simpson also stressed resources must be put in place to ensure that patients who want assisted dying can “self-refer” to physicians who will assist them.

“I can’t emphasize enough that in us taking this position about conscientious objection we feel equally strong that we need to have other mechanisms to make sure that patients who need the service get it,” said Simpson.

Just one day after the interview was published, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario – the country’s largest regulatory authority for physicians – released a new policy stating physicians who are opposed to certain medical practices must refer patients to other physicians who will assist them.

However, in a background document the College said because the Supreme Court decision is not yet in effect “the case does not have any implications for the Professional Obligations and Human Rights policy. If Parliament and/or the provincial legislature develop a legal framework to enable physician assisted death to be provided to patients, the College will consider the legal framework and evaluate whether any changes to the policy are required.”

In another development, the CMAJ published a March 9 commentary that supported the CMA’s position calling for significant involvement of the medical profession in the development of any regulations or policies governing physician-assisted dying.

The commentary by Jocelyn Downie, a member of the pro bono legal team that challenged the ban on physician-assisted dying in the Supreme Court, stated “physicians have an extraordinary opportunity to have a tremendously positive impact on end-of-life care in Canada.”

Downie also said physicians have “a singular opportunity” to advocate for expanded palliative care in the wake of the Supreme Court decision.

The types of questions raised by Downie that must be addressed in developing new regulations are exactly the ones already being considered by the CMA Committee on Ethics in its development of a draft regulatory framework and foundational principles.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Il faut des directives claires sur la référence pour l’aide médicale à mourir, dit Chris Simpson

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) continue à sensibiliser les plus hauts responsables politiques et les intervenants de premier plan au point de vue de la profession médicale sur l’aide médicale à mourir et sur la nécessité d’établir des directives claires en la matière question.

Chris Simpson, le président de l’AMC, a discuté du point de vue de l’AMC lors d’une récente rencontre avec la ministre fédérale de la Santé, Rona Ambrose. L’AMC souhaite également rencontrer le ministre fédéral de la Justice, Peter MacKay, afin de discuter de la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada, qui a récemment déclaré inconstitutionnelle les dispositions du Code criminel qui interdisent l’aide médicale.

Depuis quelques semaines, l’AMC a aussi insisté vivement sur le fait que les médecins doivent pouvoir agir selon leur conscience sur la question de l’aide médicale à mourir.

Dans une entrevue publiée dans le National Post, le Dr Simpson a dit : « Nous ne pouvons tout simplement pas accepter un système qui oblige les médecins à agir contre leur conscience et leurs principes personnels sur une question aussi importante. »

La référence obligatoire pour l’aide médicale à mourir est l’une des principales questions à trancher à la suite de la décision unanime du tribunal. Bien que l’AMC n’ait pas de politique précise sur cette question controversée, elle consultera ses membres au cours des prochains mois et espère pouvoir fournir une orientation après l’assemblée de son Conseil général en août prochain.

La cour a indiqué qu’il faudra concilier les droits des patients et des médecins prévus par la Charte quand l’interdiction sera levée dans un an. Selon le Dr Simpson, de nombreux médecins qui s’opposent à l’aide médicale à mourir estiment que le simple fait de référer un patient à un collègue pour qu’il prenne une décision « est contraire à leur éthique personnelle ou à leurs croyances morales ou religieuses ».

Lors de l’entrevue, le Dr Simpson a toutefois souligné qu’il faut mettre des ressources en place pour assurer que les patients peuvent « se référer eux-mêmes » à des médecins qui seront en mesure de les aider.

« Je n’insisterai jamais assez sur le fait que nous défendons l’objection de conscience mais que nous sommes également convaincus qu’il faut avoir des mécanismes pour permettre aux patients qui ont besoin de ce service de l’obtenir », a ajouté le Dr Simpson.

Quelques jours à peine après la publication de cette entrevue, l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario – le plus important collège des médecins au pays – a présenté une nouvelle politique indiquant que les médecins qui s’opposent à certaines pratiques médicales doivent référer les patients à des médecins qui pourront les aider.

Comme l’Ordre le précise toutefois dans un document d'information, puisque la décision de la Cour suprême n’est pas encore en vigueur, « l’affaire n’a aucune incidence sur sa politique au sujet des obligations professionnelles et des droits de la personne. Si le Parlement canadien ou une assemblée législative établit un cadre juridique permettant de fournir une aide médicale à mourir aux patients, l’Ordre étudiera ce cadre et déterminera s’il faut modifier la politique ».

Par ailleurs, le 9 mars, le JAMC a publié un commentaire à l’appui de la position de l’AMC selon laquelle la profession médicale doit participer pleinement à l’élaboration des règles ou politiques régissant l’aide médicale à mourir.

Le commentaire de Jocelyn Downie, qui faisait partie de l’équipe juridique bénévole qui a contesté l’interdiction de l’aide médicale à mourir devant la Cour suprême, souligne que « c’est une occasion extraordinaire pour les médecins d’avoir un impact extrêmement positif sur les soins de fin de vie au Canada ».

Me Downie a ajouté que les médecins ont une « occasion unique » de promouvoir les soins palliatifs à la suite de la décision de la Cour suprême.

Les questions qui, selon Me Downie, doivent être prises en compte dans l’élaboration de nouvelles règles sont exactement celles qu’étudie actuellement le Comité d’éthique de l’AMC alors qu’il élabore un cadre réglementaire et des principes fondamentaux provisoires.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.