Sign In

What makes a healthy physician?

Health Practices podcast series

Treating the doctor patient

Guest: Dr. Michael Peters

Is the “physician patient” an oxymoron? Dr. Michael Peters, director of the British Medical Association’s “Doctors for Doctors” program, doesn’t think so. Ensuring physicians are healthy and have access to health services throughout their careers is critical to an effective medical system and good patient care. Learn about the art and science of treating physicians, and how doctors can get help confidentially, safely and proactively.

Duration: 17 minSize: 17.3 MBPlay

Highly functioning and healthy doc: mission (im)possible?

Guest: Dr. Luis Sanchez

Is time spent to ensure clinical competence too often at the expense of your personal life? Dr. Luis Sanchez, addictions psychiatrist and director of the State of Massachusetts physician health program, speaks to Dr. Mamta Gautam about ways to lead a healthier, more balanced life and create a more compassionate work culture.

Duration: 15:54 minSize: 16 MBPlay

Seeking the burnout solution

Guest: Dr. Karin Ro

What can doctors do when they're experiencing burnout? How and where can they address perceived vulnerabilities? Is it possible to manage work and family-related stressors without neglecting personal needs? Dr. Karin Ro, occupational health physician and counselor at Villa Sana – an innovative wellness centre for health professionals in Modum Bad, Norway – shares research and insights on how "a healthier doctor" results from understanding choices, possibilities and opportunities.

Duration: 14.31 minSize: 14.7 MBPlay

Important stuff first: the gateway to wellness

Guest: Dr. Pilar Lusilla

The stresses and demands of the medical profession are many. How do physicians make time for what’s most important? And what does “most important” mean? For 10 years, Spanish psychiatrist Dr. Pilar Lusilla has focused on helping doctors find the right work-life balance at PAIMM (Programa d’Atencio Integral al Metge Malalt), an integral care program for sick physicians. She shares insights about why taking care of oneself is the most important thing a physician can do.

Duration: 12.24 minSize: 12.6 MBPlay

The many layers of the healthy doc

Guest: Dr. Patrick Alley

A fine balance exists between self-awareness, collegiality within the profession and being a healthy physician. Hear what Dr. Patrick Alley, surgeon and coordinator of the Doctors' Health Advisory Service in Auckland, N.Z., has to say about the benefits of drilling down and learning what makes you and your colleagues tick.

Duration: 21:57 minSize: 22.6 MBPlay

Connexion

Qu’est-ce qui fait qu’un médecin est en bonne santé ?

Série de balados – Saines practiques(en anglais seulement)

«Treating the doctor patient»

Invité: Dr Michael Peters

Le « patient médecin », deux états incompatibles ? Le Dr Michael Peters, directeur du programme « Doctors for Doctors » (des médecins pour les médecins) de la British Medical Association ne le pense pas. S’assurer que les médecins sont en santé et qu’ils ont accès à des services de santé tout au long de leur carrière est essentiel pour un système de santé efficace et des soins qualité aux patients. Découvrez l’art et la science du soin des médecins et la façon dont les médecins peuvent aider à préserver la confidentialité de façon sécuritaire et proactive.

Durée: 17:00 minTaille du fichier : 17.3 MBÉcouter

«Highly functioning and healthy doc: mission (im)possible?»

Invité: Dr Luis Sanchez

Accordez-vous trop de temps à perfectionner vos compétences cliniques au détriment de votre vie personnelle ? Le Dr Luis Sanchez, psychiatre en dépendance et directeur du programme de santé des médecins de l’État du Massachusetts (É.-U.), s’entretient avec la Dre Mamta Gautam sur les façons de vivre une vie plus saine et plus équilibrée et de créer une culture professionnelle plus compatissante.

Duration: 15:54 minTaille du fichier : 16 MBÉcouter

«Seeking the burnout solution»

Invitée: Dre Karin Ro

Que peuvent faire les médecins aux prises avec l’épuisement professionnel ? Comment et où peuvent-ils parler des vulnérabilités qu’ils perçoivent ? Est-il possible de gérer les éléments de stress reliés au travail et à la vie familiale sans toutefois négliger ses besoins personnels ? La Dre Karin Ro, médecin en santé au travail et conseillère à Villa Sana – un centre de mieux-être novateur pour les professionnels de la santé situé à Modum Bad, en Norvège – partage des résultats de recherche et des perspectives qui montrent qu’un médecin est en meilleure santé lorsqu’il comprend les choix, les possibilités et les occasions qui s’offrent à lui.

Durée: 14:31 minTaille du fichier : 14.7 MBÉcouter

«Important stuff first: the gateway to wellness»

Invitée: Dre Pilar Lusilla

Les éléments de stress et les exigences de la profession médicales sont nombreux. Comment les médecins peuvent-ils réussir à accorder du temps à ce qui est le plus important ? Et qu’est-ce que signifie « plus important » ? Depuis 10 ans, la Dre Pilar Lusilla, psychiatre espagnole, aide les médecins à trouver un équilibre entre le travail et la vie personnelle au PAIMM (Programa d’Atencio Integral al Metge Malalt), un programme de soins de santé globale pour les médecins malades. Elle partage ses perspectives sur les raisons pour lesquelles prendre soin de soi est la chose la plus importante que puisse faire un médecin.

Durée: 12:24 minTaille du fichier : 12.6 MBÉcouter

«The many layers of the healthy doc»

Invité: Dr Patrick Alley

Il y a un équilibre délicat entre la conscience de soi, le sentiment de collégialité au sein de la profession et la santé du médecin. Écoutez les commentaires du Dr Patrick Alley, chirurgien et coordonateur du Doctors' Health Advisory Service d’Auckland, en Nouvelle-Zélande, qui parle des avantages d’une exploration en profondeur pour découvrir ce qui vous rejoint, vous et vos collègues.

Durée: 21.57 minTaille du fichier : 22.6 MBÉcouter