Canadian Medical Association

Eleven dedicated medical professionals were honoured this evening at the CMA Awards Gala in Toronto. The event is the kick-off to the second annual CMA Health Summit, where more than 900 physicians, patients and policy-makers from across the country will connect to discuss pressing issues in health care.

Nominated by their peers, each recipient has displayed a commitment to improving the medical profession and the health of patients.

“We’re proud to recognize 11 individuals who’ve contributed to improving health and health care,” says CMA President Dr. Gigi Osler, “not only in Canada but around the world.”

Two-minute videos highlighting the story behind each award winner’s accomplishments were played at the gala (links to videos below).

The 2019 CMA Award recipients are:

Charles-Antoine Barbeau-Meunier – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Student)

A medical student with a focus on global health, Charles-Antoine served as the Government of Canada’s youth delegate for the World Health Assembly in 2018. In his studies, he is also exploring empathy and its connection to care.

Philip Edgcumbe – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Student)

Mr. Edgcumbe is pursuing the MD-PhD program at the University of British Columbia. His bold ideas and medical innovations have made him a sought-after speaker and emerging leader.

Dr. Sheila Wang – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Resident)

Using her skills as a researcher and innovator, Dr. Wang developed a mobile app that takes images of wounds – an invention that’s helping change patient outcomes.

Dr. Ali Damji – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Resident)

Dr. Damji is a fierce advocate for his medical colleagues and for a better health system.

Dr. David-Martin Milot – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Early Career)

Dr. Milot is a public health specialist who is fighting social inequalities at home and abroad.

Dr. Alika Lafontaine – Sir Charles Tupper Award for Political Action

The award recognizes leadership, commitment and dedication to advancing the goals and policies of the association through grassroots advocacy. Dr. Lafontaine is a physician from Alberta who is creating spaces for positive change in Indigenous health.

Dr. Mamta Gautam – May Cohen Award for Women Mentors

The award is presented annually to a female physician who has been an exceptional mentor to her trainees and colleagues. Dr. Gautam has demonstrated her mentorship and leadership at the local, regional, provincial and national levels, helping to create more female leaders in medicine.

Lieutenant Colonel Vivian McAlister, MD – John McCrae Memorial Medal

The award is presented to a current or former member of the clinical health services personnel of the Canadian Armed Forces. Dr. McAlister is a surgeon who has dedicated the last decade of his career to the Canadian military. 

Ed Hobday – Owen Adams Award of Honour

This is the highest award the CMA can bestow upon a person who is not a member of the medical profession. Mr. Hobday has dedicated nearly a half-century to serving physicians and the health care system.  

Dr. Ak'ingabe Guyon – CMA Medal of Service

This award recognizes an exceptional and outstanding contribution to the advancement of health care in Canada. Dr. Guyon is an internationally-trained physician helping lead the fight for public health prevention.

Dr. Danielle Martin – F.N.G. Starr Award 

This is the highest award the CMA can bestow. Dr. Martin is the youngest person to ever receive it, and only the third woman. She is a leading academic, clinician and health care administrator. Though still early in her career, she created and led a national organization dedicated to universal health care.



Questions or Comments?

Contact CMA News
Back to top