Canadian Medical Association

Dr Esther Tailfeathers

Dr. Esther Tailfeathers – F.N.G. Starr Award

Dr. Esther Tailfeathers is a changemaker in Indigenous health. As medical lead of the Indigenous Wellness Core at Alberta Health Services (AHS), she works to increase access for Indigenous peoples across the province while making care safer and more culturally appropriate.

Read more about Dr. Esther Tailfeathers

Samir Sinha

Dr. Samir Sinha – Canadian Medical Association Award for Political Advocacy

Few have done more to advocate for older Canadians than Dr. Samir Sinha. As director of geriatrics for Sinai Health and University Health Network in Toronto, he helped develop the Acute Care for Elders, or ACE, Strategy. 

Read more about Dr. Samir Sinha

Dr Debra Boyce

Dr. Debra Boyce – May Cohen Award for Women Mentors

Dr. Debra Boyce has transformed one of Canada’s largest and oldest health care organizations, the Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA), by encouraging, facilitating and supporting the advancement of women.

Read more about Dr. Debra Boyce

Dr. Scott McLeod

Dr. Scott McLeod – Dr. William Marsden Award in Medical Ethics and Professionalism

As Registrar and CEO of the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Alberta (CPSA), Dr. Scott McLeod has demonstrated ethical leadership in action.

Read more about Dr. Scott McLeod

Lieutenant Colonel Andrew Beckett, MD

Lieutenant Colonel Andrew Beckett, MD – John McCrae Memorial Medal

Dr. Andrew Beckett wants every soldier and civilian to have the best chance of surviving a devastating injury in a war zone, and that means ensuring quick access to easy-to-use and effective blood products.

Read more about Lieutenant Colonel Andrew Beckett, MD

Dr Brenda Reynolds

Ms. Brenda Reynolds – Owen Adams Award of Honour

Brenda Reynolds has spent her career supporting the health and well-being of Indigenous communities.

Read more about Dr. Brenda Reynolds

Dr. Jessica Dunkley

Dr. Jessica Dunkley – Dr. Ashok Muzumdar Memorial Award for Physicians with Disabilities

Dr. Jessica Dunkley — Canada’s first deaf physician — has been driving change since the first days of medical school.

Read more about Dr. Jessica Dunkley

Dr. Franco Rizzuti

Dr. Franco Rizzuti – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Early Career)

While still in residency in Public Health and Preventive Medicine at the University of Calgary, Dr. Franco Rizzuti played a significant role in responding to COVID-19.

Read more about Dr. Franco Rizzuti

Dr. Brent Young

Dr. Brent Young – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Early Career)

In his short time as a family physician, Brent Young has already had a positive impact on Indigenous health outcomes in Halifax.

Read more about Dr. Brent Young

Dr. Victor Do

Dr. Victor Do – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Resident)

Victor Do’s commitment to medicine includes a commitment to the health and well-being of his peers.

Read more about Dr. Victor Do

Dr. Miles Marchand

Dr. Miles Marchand – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Resident)

Dr. Miles Marchand is determined to enhance cardiovascular care in Canada’s Indigenous populations.

Read more about Dr. Miles Marchand

Maxine Joly-Chevrier

Maxine Joly-Chevrier – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Student)

At just 18 years old, Maxine Joly-Chevrier developed a program to support isolated seniors through the pandemic.

Read more about Maxine Joly-Chevrier

Owen Luo

Owen Luo – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Student)

Owen Luo is empowering the next generation of doctors to advocate for a net zero health care system.

Read more about Owen Luo

Victoria Blouin

Victoria Blouin – Dr. Brian Brodie Organizational Leadership Development Award

Victoria Blouin has proven to be an effective leader and representative for the interests of Quebec medical students.

Read more about Victoria Blouin

Back to top