Canadian Medical Association

The Awards for Young Leaders are given out to up to six CMA members each year: two students, two residents and two early-career physicians (five years post-residency).

Recipients have demonstrated exemplary dedication, commitment and leadership in one of the following areas: political, clinical, educational, or research and community service.

Award recipients have also:

  • exemplified creativity, initiative and shown commitment to "making a difference"
  • been active and effective at the local, provincial/territorial and/or national level
  • acted as a positive and effective role model for their peers and colleagues



2023   Maxine Joly-Chevrier and Owen Luo
2022   Armaghan (Army) Alam and Angela Huynh
2021   Dr. Meghan Kerr and Dr. Dax Bourcier
2020   Vivian Tsang and Niharika Shahi
2019   Philip Edgcumbe and Charles-Antoine Barbeau-Meunier
2018    Aline Demirdjian Khatchikian and Lerly Luo
2017    Bing Yu Chen and Amy Li    
2016    Azalea Lehndorff and Latif Murji
2015    Soniya Sharma
2014    Peter Gill
2013    Rithesh Ram
2012    Colin Casault
2011    David Campbell
2010    Laura Drudi
2009    Juliet Emamaullee, PhD, and Charlotte Kfoury
2008    Sagar Dugani 
2007    Evan Wood
2006    Ryan Sommers
2005    Lanette Prediger
2004    Julielynn Wong


2023   Dr. Victor Do and Dr. Miles Marchand
2022   Dr. Shane Arsenault and Dr. Amit Persad
2021    Dr. Thomas Brothers and Dr. Brandon Tang
2020    Dr. Kimberly Williams and Dr. Anthea Lafreniere
2019    Dr. Sheila Wang and Dr. Ali Damji
2018    Dr. Blair Bigham and Dr. Christopher Charles
2017    Dr. Aravind Ganesh and Dr. Colm McCarthy
2016    Dr. Debraj Das and Dr. Vera Krejcik
2015    Dr. Amol Verma
2014    Dr. Farhan Asrar
2013    Dr. Paul Singh Dhillon
2012    Dr. Brock Debenham
2011    Dr. Abdullah Saleh
2010    Dr. Laura Stinton
2009    Dr. Devesh Varma
2008    Dr. Jerry Maniate    
2007    Dr. Roona Sinha    
2006    Dr. Karin Dymond Kerfoot
2005    Dr. Danielle Martin
2004    Dr. Adam Natsheh

Early career

2023   Dr. Franco Rizzuti and Dr. Brent Young
2022   Dr. Boluwaji Ogunyemi and
Dr. Shannon Ruzycki
2021    Dr. Ashley Miller and Dr. Monty Ghosh
2020    Dr. Naheed Dosani and Dr. Vanessa Poliquin
2019    Dr. David-Martin Milot
2018    Dr. Cara Bablitz and Dr. William Cherniak
2017    Dr. Farhan Asrar and Dr. Paul Dhillon
2016    Dr. André Bernard and Dr. Meredith Giuliani
2015    Dr. Alika Lafontaine
2014    Dr. Samir Sinha
2013    Dr. Kathryn Andrusky
2012    Dr. Sanjeev Sockalingam
2011    Dr. Michal S. Kalisiak
2010    Dr. Ann R. Vaidya
2009    Dr. Jordan Cohen
2006    Dr. Michael Pollanen
2005    Dr. Robert Siemens
2004    Dr. Christopher Simpson


Back to top