Canadian Medical Association

The Dr. William Marsden Award in Medical Ethics and Professionalism honours the CMA's first chair of its Committee on Ethics, who presided over the original draft of the CMA Code of Ethics.

The award recognizes a CMA member who has demonstrated exemplary leadership, commitment and dedication to advancing and promoting excellence in medical ethics or medical professionalism in Canada.

Candidates must demonstrate, in one of the following areas:

  • commitment to furthering the cause of medical ethics in Canada
  • leadership in enhancing ethical and professional behaviour amongst Canadian physicians
  • excellence in research and/or teaching initiatives in medical ethics


2023    Dr. Scott McLeod
2022    Not awarded
2021    Dr. Antoine Payot
2020    Dr. Gurdeep Parhar
2019    Not awarded
2018    Dr. Ritika Goel
2017    Dr. James Silvius
2016    Dr. Chip Doig
2015    Dr. Paul Byrne
2014    Dr. Eric Wasylenko
2013    Dr. David McKnight and Dr. Ian Mitchell
2012    Dr. Vincent P. Sweeney
2011    Dr. Bonnie Cham
2010    Dr. Eugene Bereza
2009    Dr. Nuala Kenny
2008    Dr. Philip Hébert
2007    Dr. John Dossetor

Back to top