Canadian Medical Association

The F.N.G. Starr Award is the highest CMA award available to one of its members and recognizes outstanding and inspiring lifetime achievement.

Medallists have achieved distinction in one of the following ways:

  • making an outstanding contribution to science, the fine arts or nonmedical literature
  • serving humanity under conditions calling for courage or the endurance of hardship in the promotion of health or the saving of life
  • advancing the humanitarian or cultural life of his or her community
  • improving medical service in Canada


2023    Dr. Esther Tailfeathers
2022    Dr. John Conly
2021    Dr. Shaf Keshavjee
2020    Dr. Vladimir Hachinski
2019    Dr. Danielle Martin
2018    Dr. Andreas Laupacis
2017    Dr. Donald Lalonde
2016    Dr. David Naylor
2015    Dr. Norman Campbell
2014    Dr. Anne Fanning
2013    Dr. Julio Montaner
2012    Dr. Harvey Max Chochinov
2010    Dr. Josef Skála
2009    Dr. Donald Rix
2008    Dr. Vincent Échavé
2007    Dr. Wilbert Keon
2006    Dr. Henry Friesen
2005    Dr. Albert Aguayo
2004    Dr. Lorne Tyrrell
2003    Dr. Allan R. Ronald
2002    Dr. John Robert Evans
2001    Dr. James Fraser Mustard
2000    Dr. Donald Brian Calne
1999    Dr. Richard B. Goldbloom
1998    Dr. Harry William Bain
1997    Dr. Robert Salter
1996    Dr. John Bowman
1995    Dr. Donald Wills Penner
1994    Dr. Herbert Henri Jasper
1993    Dr. Jean Davignon
1992    Dr. Wilfred Gordon Bigelow
1991    Dr. Henry J.M. Barnett
1990    Dr. Fraser Newman Gurd
1989    Dr. David Boyes
1988    Dr. Robert Baird McClure
1987    Dr. Lucille Teasdale
1986    Dr. Charles George Drake
1985    Dr. Gordon Waddell Thomas
1983    Dr. Phil Gold
1982    Dr. Jacques Genest
1979    Dr. Armand Frappier
1978    Dr. Gustave Gingras
1977    Dr. Edmund Harry Botterell
1975    Dr. William Boyd
1974    Dr. W.C. Mackenzie
1972    Dr. Hans Selye
1969    Dr. Bruce Chown
1967    Dr. Murray Barr
1965    Dr. Wilder Penfield
1957    Dr. Duncan A. Graham
1953    Dr. Charles F. Martin
1951    Dr. Alfred T. Bazin
1948    Dr. T.C. Routley
1938    Dr. J.S. McEachern
1936    Dr. Charles Best
1936    Dr. J.B. Collip
1936    Sir Frederick Banting​​

Back to top