Canadian Medical Association

The May Cohen Award for Women Mentors is presented to a female physician and CMA member who has demonstrated outstanding mentoring.

Award recipients will have:

  • encouraged, facilitated and supported mentees in career and leadership development
  • acted as an effective role model in medicine or medical leadership
  • contributed to the development of women's mentorship advocacy at the regional, national and/or international level


2023    Dr. Debra Boyce
2022    Dr. Cornelia Wieman
2021    Dr. Sofia Ahmed
2020    Dr. Vanessa Maclean
2019    Dr. Mamta Gautam
2018    Dr. Janice Willett
2017    Dr. Gillian Hawker
2016    Dr. Brenda Millar and Dr. Susan Swiggum
2015    Dr. Allison McGeer
2014    Dr. Barbara Stubbs
2013    Dr. Wendy Levinson
2012    Dr. Mary Gospodarowicz
2011    Dr. Elizabeth MacRae​
2010    Dr. Linda Uniat
2009    Dr. Catharine Whiteside
2008    Dr. Helen Garson
2007    Dr. Anne Fanning
2006    Dr. Louise Caouette Laberge
2005    Dr. Laurie Morrison
2004    Dr. Robin McLeod
2003    Dr. Jenny Heathcote
2002    Dr. Rose Goldstein
2001    Dr. May Cohen ​

Back to top