Canadian Medical Association

The candidates for the position of Canadian Medical Association (CMA) president in 2023–24 are:

  • Dr. Evan Tlesla II Adams
  • Dr. William J. Cunningham
  • Dr. Sanjiv Karamchand Gandhi
  • Dr. Jason Kur
  • Dr. Kathleen Ross
  • Dr. Caroline Y. Wang

Members can visit to learn more about each candidate and how they plan to support the work of the CMA.

All CMA members in BC will be invited to vote for their preferred candidate between Mar. 1–15; the CMA will share the elections results on Mar. 18. The successful candidate will be put forward for ratification at the CMA’s Annual General Meeting (scheduled for mid-August). Under the CMA bylaws, any 50 CMA members may put forward additional eligible candidate(s) from BC before Mar. 21. 

The CMA presidency is rotated alphabetically among the provinces and territories. Below is the rotation for upcoming elections, to help potential candidates plan: 

  • Manitoba: 2023 election for 2024–2025 term
  • New Brunswick: 2024 election for 2025–2026 term
  • Newfoundland and Labrador: 2025 election for 2026–2027 term

More information on the president’s role, the nomination process and timelines

It is important that the CMA’s leadership reflects the diversity of the medical profession and the communities we serve. We continue to encourage candidates of all backgrounds and experiences, including members of traditionally under-represented groups, to apply for CMA leadership opportunities.

Questions or Comments?

Contact CMA News
Back to top