Canadian Medical Association

The election for the position of CMA president-elect nominee has officially kicked off in Ontario, with voting opening on February 15. Candidates for this year include Dr. Sandy Buchman, Dr. Mamta Gautam, Dr. Atul Kapur and Dr. Darren Larsen.

All members of the OMA who are also members of the CMA are eligible to vote in this year’s election. Eligible members will have already received detailed voting instructions via email, including links to the candidates’ letters of intention and CVs. Should eligible voting members have any difficulty accessing the online voting platform, they can contact the CMA Member Service Centre at 888-855-2555 (toll-free) or

Voting will be open from February 15 to March 7 (at 11:59 pm - EST), with the final results being announced to membership shortly thereafter.

Pending confirmation of the nomination by General Council in August, the successful candidate will serve as CMA president-elect until summer 2019, after which they will assume the presidency.

Each year, the CMA president-elect is nominated by physicians in a different region of the country according to a pre-determined rotation cycle involving the 12 provincial and territorial medical associations that form the CMA. For more information, please visit the elections page.

Questions or Comments?

Contact CMA News
Back to top