Canadian Medical Association

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) is calling on members to nominate peers and colleagues who are making significant contributions to Canadian health care. In a year when COVID-19 continues to test the determination and resourcefulness of physicians, it is especially important to celebrate accomplishments throughout the profession.

The nomination period for the 2021 CMA Awards starts today and will run until Nov. 30.

Learn how to nominate someone

Previous winners of the CMA Awards come from all career stages – medical learners, residents, early-career physicians and seasoned professionals – and from diverse backgrounds and geographic regions. 

In addition, the CMA honours one person dedicated to improving health care and the medical profession who is not a physician, through the Owen Adams Award of Honour.

Meet the 2020 CMA Award winners

The CMA is honoured to add the Dr. Ashok Muzumdar Memorial Award to its lineup in 2021. The award recognizes a CMA member with a disability who is a passionate advocate for patients, medical learners and/or physicians with disabilities.

Dr. Muzumdar founded the Canadian Association of Physicians with Disabilities (CAPD) in 1999, after grappling with his own vision loss. The CAPD was the first Canadian organization devoted to fostering mutual support for physicians with disabilities. This award was created by the CAPD after Dr. Muzumdar passed away in November 2012. The CMA is pleased to now offer it on an annual basis.

The CMA has also renamed its Medal of Service after Dr. Léo-Paul Landry, a Quebec physician who served as the CMA’s secretary general for 13 years and helped transform the organization into a truly national voice for Canadian physicians. The Dr. Léo-Paul Landry Medal of Service recognizes exceptional contributions to the advancement of health care in Canada.

Questions or Comments?

Contact CMA News
Back to top