Canadian Medical Association

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) is pleased to announce this year’s CMA Awards recipients — 14 dedicated and passionate learners and professionals driving a better future of health.

These awards celebrate accomplishments in leadership, advocacy and professionalism, including work to transform Indigenous health, promote the rights of deaf patients and providers, and advance sustainable health care.

“In the midst of concurrent crises facing patients, providers and health systems across Canada, we have an ongoing need for changemakers whose ideas and innovations solve our shared problems. I’m honoured to recognize these exceptional individuals and the positive impact they’re having on health care.” – Dr. Alika Lafontaine, CMA president

The 2023 CMA Awards recipients are:

Dr. Esther Tailfeathers – F.N.G Starr Award

Dr. Samir Sinha – CMA Award for Political Advocacy

Dr. Debra Boyce – May Cohen Award for Women Mentors

Dr. Scott McLeod – Dr. William Marsden Award in Medical Ethics and Professionalism

Lieutenant Colonel Andrew Beckett, MD – John McCrae Memorial Medal

Ms. Brenda Reynolds – Owen Adams Award of Honour

Dr. Jessica Dunkley – Dr. Ashok Muzumdar Memorial Award for Physician with Disabilities

Dr. Franco Rizzuti – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Early Career)

Dr. Brent Young – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Early Career)

Dr. Victor Do – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Resident)

Dr. Miles Marchand – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Resident)

Ms. Maxine Joly-Chevrier – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Student)

Mr. Owen Luo – CMA Award for Young Leaders (Student)

Ms. Victoria Blouin – Dr. Brian Brodie, Organizational Leadership Development Award for student

Nominations for the 2024 CMA Awards will open Sept. 30, 2023.


Questions or Comments?

Contact CMA News
Back to top