Canadian Medical Association


  1. The award shall be known as the Canadian Medical Association Frederic Newton Gisborne Starr Award (F.N.G. Starr Award).
  2. Lifetime achievement is the prime requisite in determining the recipient for this award. Such achievement should be so outstanding as to serve as an inspiration and a challenge to the medical profession in Canada. Medalists may have achieved distinction in one of the following ways:
    • by making an outstanding contribution to science, the fine arts or literature (non-medical);
    • by achievement in:
      • serving humanity under conditions calling for courage or the endurance of hardship in the promotion of health or the saving of life,
      • advancing the humanitarian or cultural life of his or her community, or
      • improving medical service in Canada.
  3. The award represents the highest award that lies within the power of the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) to bestow upon one of its members.


Nominees must be members of the CMA.

  1. The CMA shall be under no obligation to present the award annually; it may be awarded to more than one person in a given year.
  2. Any possibility that an individual or organization could exploit winning a CMA award for personal profit or commercial advantage will be taken into consideration.
  3. Any CMA member currently sitting as an elected officer, a member of the CMA Board of Directors or the Awards Committee, is not eligible for nomination to CMA awards unless under exceptional circumstances.
  4. This award will not be awarded posthumously. In the event of the demise of the nominee after being selected but before being presented with the award, it shall be presented posthumously.
  5. Previous Medal of Service winners are ineligible to receive this award.
  6. Nominations may be submitted, accompanied by suitable documentation, by a CMA member, a provincial or territorial medical association, an affiliate or an associate society. Self-nomination is ineligible. Documentation will consist of a completed nomination form, a detailed letter of nomination accompanied by two letters of support (letters must be no more than 2 pages in length) and the nominee’s curriculum vitae or bio (3-page maximum). Handwritten submissions will not be accepted.
  7. A nomination may be re-submitted in a subsequent year. Should fewer than 3 nominations be received for this award, the award will not be presented and the nominees will be brought forward for consideration the following year.
  8. The Chair of the Awards Committee shall receive nominations until Nov. 30 of the year before the award is to be presented. Nominations must be submitted through the online form.
  9. The Committee on Awards shall make the final decision of the award recipient and provide an update to the CMA Board of Directors.
  10. As a condition precedent to the award being granted, a nominee will be required to provide written consent in a form provided by CMA, authorizing CMA to use the nominee’s name, likeness and approved biography notes for a public announcement of the award and related communications (including social media). If a selected nominee does not provide the required written consent within the prescribed time, the Awards Committee reserves the right to select an alternate award recipient or not make an award for that year.
Back to top