Canadian Medical Association

The Owen Adams Award of Honour is the highest CMA award available to a non-physician.

The award is granted in recognition of:

  • contributions to the advancement of medical research, medical education, health care organization or health education of the public
  • contributions to the awareness of the value that lived experience (patient/caregiver insight) brings to health care in Canada
  • service to the people of Canada in raising the standards of health care delivery in Canada
  • service to the profession in the field of medical organization
  • activities and initiatives that have contributed to improvements in the health and wellness of Canadians


2023    Brenda Reynolds
2022    Not awarded
2021    Rosemary Conliffe
2020    André Picard
2019    Ed Hobday
2018    Mike Gormley
2017    Ron Sapsford
2016    Alvin Libin
2015    Camille Dow-Baker
2014    Dr. Juliet Guichon
2013    Nigel Fisher
2012    Senator Roméo Dallaire
2011    Dr. Austin Mardon​
2010    Honourable Michael J.L. Kirby
2009    Dr. Mark A. Wainberg
2008    Louise Miller
2007    David Patchell-Evans
2006    Christiane Ayotte
2005    Dr. Lou Siminovitch
2004    Prof. Edward W. Keyserlingk
2003    Raymond V. Rajotte
2002    Honourable Peter Lougheed
2001    Prof. Evelyn Shapiro
2000    Naranjan Dhalla
1999    Richard B. Stein
1998    Jack Gauldie
1997    Peter Fraser
1996    Dr. Lap-Chee Tsui
1995    David J. Roy
1994    Michael Smith
1993    Douglas Albert Geekie
1992    Bernard ("Woody") E. Freamo
1990    Hugh Clifford Chadderton
1988    Fernand Séguin
1987    Rick Hansen
1986    Joan Hollobon
1985    Dr. Raymond Urgel Lemieux
1984    Dr. David Suzuki
1983    Dr. Harold E. Johns
1982    Esther Robins

Back to top