Canadian Medical Association


The award shall be known as the CMA Dr. Brian Brodie Organizational Leadership Development Award. It will have one student and one resident recipient.

The Award is intended to celebrate the efforts of a passionate leader, Dr. Brian Brodie, who championed educational opportunities in leadership development, particularly in the medical learner community. Dr. Brodie was chair of the CMA Board of Directors from 2013 to 2019 and was the first physician and chair of a not-for-profit organization to become a fellow of the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD.D). To commemorate his retirement from the CMA Board of Directors, the CMA will present the Dr. Brian Brodie Organizational Leadership Development Award to one student and one resident who have demonstrated exemplary dedication and commitment to, as well as leadership in, medical organizations.

Relative to these domains, nominees must have:

  • exemplified creativity, initiative and a commitment to “making a difference”;
  • been active and effective at the local, provincial/ territorial and/or national level;
  • acted as a positive and effective role model for their peers and colleagues; and
  • demonstrated a commitment to furthering their development knowledge and/or experience in governance and strategic planning.

In addition to meeting the above criteria, nominees must demonstrate a path through which they will utilize the Award to further the mission, vision and values of the CMA, including equity diversity and inclusion. Such initiatives may include the opportunity for the recipients of the Award to represent the CMA at leadership development courses/training as set out below and, by doing so, directly contribute to the CMA’s ongoing goals: improving health systems, health and the health workforce and creating advancements within the medical profession.

Expenses such as tuition or travel associated with attendance on behalf of the CMA at such development courses/training will be supported by the CMA to a maximum of $10,000.

  • Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) courses
  • Canadian Conference on Physician Leadership
  • Physician Leadership Institute courses


  1. Nominees shall be members of the Canadian Medical Association.
  2. The Award should be awarded to one student and one resident in a given year, but the CMA shall be under no obligation to bestow the Award annually.
  3. Candidates for the Dr. Brian Brodie Organizational Leadership Development Award are not eligible for consideration for the Young Leaders Award in a given year.
  4. Any possibility that an individual or organization could exploit winning the Award for personal profit or commercial advantage will be taken into consideration.
  5. Nominations will be accepted, accompanied by suitable documentation, from a CMA member, a provincial or territorial medical association, an affiliate or an associate society or medical organization in Canada. Self-nominations will be accepted from CMA members. Documentation will consist of a completed nomination form, a detailed letter of nomination accompanied by two letters of support (letters must be no longer than 2 pages in length) and the nominee’s curriculum vitae or bio (3 page maximum). Handwritten submissions will not be accepted. Applicants will be asked to write a 200-word statement describing how they plan to continue Dr. Brodie’s legacy in leadership development. They will also be asked to describe how their experience, passion and leadership experience and commitment to furthering that experience to date will facilitate the training and development of others in the medical profession.
  6. In order to be eligible for a reimbursement of expenses relating to professional development training/courses, the Award recipient must agree to attend and register for any such training/courses as a representative of the CMA.
  7. Each Award recipient will provide a mid-year report to the CMA demonstrating how the Award, along with their attendance at the development training/courses, has made an impact in their leadership development journey and their journey to facilitate the leadership development of other medical professionals on behalf of the CMA. The report will also provide insights to the CMA on the significance of professional leadership development for students and residents as it relates to the advancement of the medical profession. The report will be sent to [email protected].
  8. A nomination may be resubmitted in a subsequent year. Should fewer than three nominations be received for the Award, it will not be presented, and the nominees may be brought forward for consideration the following year.
  9. The chair of the Committee on Awards shall receive nominations by Nov. 30. Nominations must be submitted through the online form.
  10. The Committee on Awards shall make the final decision on the Award recipients and provide an update to the CMA Board of Directors.
  11. As a condition precedent to the award being granted, a nominee will be required to provide written consent in a form provided by CMA, authorizing CMA to use the nominee’s name, likeness and approved biography notes for a public announcement of the award and related communications (including social media). If a selected nominee does not provide the required written consent within the prescribed time, the Awards Committee reserves the right to select an alternate award recipient or not make an award for that year.
Back to top